2009 Fastest Growing Companies - Progress - Progrès
Atlantis Aviation - Exploring New Horizon
Atlantis Aviation - Exploring New Horizon
home
aboutus
servicecluster
links
milestones
media
contactus
about atlantis aviation


c. 2007 atlantis aviation inc.
all rights reserved


Harold B. Hefferton

A senior results-oriented executive, with strengths in leadership, communications, public/labour relations and dedicated to maintaining high standards of operational service delivery, safety and security. A self-motivated, cooperative, conscientious, and diligent individual committed to teamwork and the development of strong relationships.

Career History

1999 - 2009 Transport Canada
Regional Director, Coordination-Atlantic

St. John’s, NL

Reporting to the Regional Director General, is accountable for providing regional input and assessment of departmental policy and legislative initiatives, for directing the conduct of socio-economic analyses of the regional transportation system and of related trends and developments, for directing the formulation of regional strategic/business plans, priorities and management practices, for directing the analysis of multi-modal and regional transportation issues and studies, for coordinating intergovernmental and stakeholder consultations in the Region, and for liaising on broad corporate policies and programs affecting the national transportation system.

Selected Achievements

  • Participated in the national business planning process while completing the Atlantic Region Business Plan.
  • Participated on the team for the STRAIGHTAHEAD initiative, a vision for transportation in Canada. The team received a National Award of Excellence for this accomplishment.
  • Organized/established and chaired the Occupational Safety and Health Committee for the St. John’s office in accordance with HRDC/Labour Canada requirements.

1998 - 1999 Transport Canada
Regional Transportation Analyst

St. John’s, NL

Reporting to the Regional Director, Coordination: explains and interprets national non-operational policy and legislation to transportation organizations, federal, provincial and municipal governments; recommends national non-operational policies, legislation or revisions to these policies; explains and interprets national programs to carriers and carrier organizations, shippers and shipping organizations, federal, provincial and municipal governments; recommends national programs or revisions to national programs; manages regional portions of national programs; manages regional studies; participates in federal/provincial agreements; chairs federal, federal/provincial and/or Departmental Committees; prepares region-related briefing material and participates in planning and executing regional Minister, Minister of State visits; assumes financial and personnel responsibility on behalf of the Regional Director.

Selected Achievements

  • Successfully completed Transport Canada Atlantic Region’s first Business Plan.

1985-1998 Transport Canada
Airport Manager

St. John’s International Airport, NL

Reporting to the Regional Manager of Airports, responsible for the provision of services and facilities to airport tenants and users; directing the Airport’s Transition Plan activities, to maximize revenues and increase the commercial viability of the airport; delivering, under normal and emergency conditions, a safe, efficient, secure, cost-effective service to airport users and facilities, while respecting environmental concerns; managing resources responsive to personnel and business principles; and directing the ongoing communications/consultative and promotional activities of the airport.

Selected Achievements

  • Recognized by the St. John’s Board of Trade as the 1998 Transportation Person of the Year, “For those individuals and organizations who faithfully promote our civic and social well being and are ever mindful of their obligation to others.”
  • Effectively led and managed a multi-disciplined staff of approximately 50 employees in a 24-hour day, 7-day week operation, especially during the stressful period of change/transition from the Public Service to a commercialized environment ( National Airports Policy ). This included a Transition Plan with declining financial and human resources.
  • Successfully managed the site’s financial resources to become the first Atlantic Region Airport to achieve 100 percent cost recovery as it relates to day-to-day O & M costs versus revenue.
  • Identified capital requirements for the airport, including two major multi-million dollar facilities (Combined Services Building and General Services Building) and was instrumental in the delivery/completion of these facilities.
  • Maintained an excellent relationship with all the stakeholders of the airport, including employees (Union/Management), media, tenants, various levels of government, and the general public.
  • Ensured that National and Regional policies, standards and procedures were maintained, resulting in the safe, secure and efficient airport operation.
  • Successfully managed several emergency exercises and actual incidents (i.e. aircraft/facility emergencies, etc.) and the airport portion of many VIP visits, including Heads of State, Foreign Dignitaries, Governor General and Federal Ministers, etc.

1981-1985 Transport Canada
Manager, Facilities & Operations & Maintenance

St. John’s International Airport, NL

Responsible to the Airport Manager to manage the maintenance and operation function of the airport by planning, organizing, directing, controlling and coordinating a continuing program of utility and facility maintenance and operation.

1979-1981 Transport Canada
Manager, Terminal, Commercial and Public Services

Gander International Airport, NL

Responsible for the management of and the functional planning for terminal, commercial and public services involving the operation of the air terminal facilities and services, security, policing, vehicles and pedestrian traffic control services, fire-fighting and marketing and property services.

1978-1979 Communications Canada
Regional Superintendent of Networks Moncton, NB

1976-1978 Department of Manpower and Immigration
Job Creation Branch
Chief of Finance and Administration Fredericton, NB

1975-1976 Department of Transport
Manager of Finance and Administration St. John’s International Airport, NL

Responsible for the management of the financial and administrative activities associated with the operation and development of the airport.

1973-1975 Department of Communications
Telecommunications Service Officer St. John’s, NL

1971-1973 Newfoundland Telephone
Business Office Representative/Communications Consultant St. John’s, NL

1966-1971 Bank of Nova Scotia
Accountant St. John’s, NL

Education

Grade XI, St. John’s, NL

Training And Development

  • Atlantic Summer School for Advanced
  • Business Administration
  • Dale Carnegie Course
  • Senior Transportation Management Course
  • Principle of Accounting ( Memorial University )
  • Instructional Methods Course
  • Universal Classification System (UCS) Training
  • French Language Training Level “B”
  • Project Management Course
  • Disaster Readiness Course
  • Airport Management Training
  • Airport Planning Course
  • Staffing Improvement Program
  • Management Skills Course ( Dalhousie University )
  • Decision Dynamics ( Faculty of Management, University of Manitoba )
  • Staff Relations for Managers
  • Coping With Change Workshop
  • Training of Harassment Investigators
  • Negotiating Skills
  • Financial Administration Training Program
  • Accredited Airport Executive ( AAE )Program
  • Introduction to Computers and Automated Systems
  • Media Skills

Community Activities

  • Skål Club of St. John’s ( World –Wide Tourism/Travel Association )
  • Transportation Club of St. John’s
  • St. John’s Board of Trade
  • Active parishioner at the Anglican Cathedral

Additional Information

In 1999, rated “quite/very effective” in all competencies in the Assessment Report from Public Service Commission’s Assessment Centre for Executive Appointment.

Back

Progress Corp désigne Atlantis Aviation comme la compagnie à la croissance la plus rapide du Canada Atlantique
Atlantis Aviation - vers de Nouveaux horizons
Atlantis Aviation - vers de Nouveaux horizons
acceuil
à proposde nous
créneaude services
liens
étapesclé
médias
contactez-nous
à proposde nous


c. 2007 atlantis aviation inc.
touts droits réservés


Harold B. Hefferton

Cadre supérieur axé sur les résultats. Forces : leadership, communications, relations publiques, relations de travail. Centré sur le maintien d'un haut niveau de qualité dans la prestation des services opérationnels et dans la sécurité. Motivé, coopératif, consciencieux, appliqué. Travailleur d'équipe qui tient à établir d'excellentes relations avec ses collègues de travail.

Profil de carrière

1999 - 2009 Transports Canada
Directeur régional de la coordination, région de l'Atlantique

St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

Sous l'autorité du directeur général de la région, assume les responsabilités suivantes : application efficace et évaluation, dans la région, de la politique ministérielle et des mesures législatives; direction d'études socio-économiques sur le système régional de transport, de même que sur les tendances et les développements qui s'y rapportent; direction de la rédaction claire du plan stratégique régional, du plan régional d'activités, des priorités et des méthodes de gestion; direction de l'analyse des problèmes du transport multimodal régional et des études sur le sujet; coordination régionale des consultations avec d'autres gouvernements et d'autres parties intéressées et liaison avec eux en matière de politique ministérielle générale et de programmes touchant le système national de transport.

Quelques réalisations

  • A participé au processus national de planification des activités au cours de la préparation du plan d'activités de la région de l'Atlantique.
  • A participé au travail de l'équipe DROIT DEVANT : Une vision pour les transports au Canada. Cette équipe a reçu un prix national d'excellence pour son travail.
  • A organisé, mis en place et présidé le comité de sécurité et santé au travail du bureau de St. John’s, selon les exigences de DRHC/Travail Canada.

1998 - 1999 Transports Canada
Analyste en transport régional

St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

Sous l'autorité du directeur régional de la coordination, assumait les responsabilités suivantes : explication et interprétation aux organismes de transport et aux gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et municipaux de la politique et de la législation nationales non opérationnelles; recommandation de politiques nationales non opérationnelles, de lois et de règlements concernant ces politiques ou de révision des politiques; explication et interprétation des programmes nationaux aux transporteurs et aux organisations de transport, aux expéditeurs et aux organisations d'expédition, et aux gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et municipaux; recommandation de programmes nationaux ou de révision de tels programmes; gestion des parties régionales des programmes nationaux; gestion des études régionales; participation aux ententes fédérales-provinciales; présidence de comités fédéraux, fédéraux-provinciaux ou ministériels; préparation, pour les séances d'information, du matériel qui concernait la région et participation à la planification et au déroulement des visites du ministre régional et du ministre d'État; exercice, au nom du directeur régional, de responsabilités en matière de finances et de personnel.

Quelques réalisations

  • A réalisé avec succès le premier plan d'activités de Transports Canada dans la région de l'Atlantique.

1985-1998 Transports Canada
Directeur des services aéroportuaires

Aéroport international de
St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

Sous l'autorité du directeur régional des aéroports, assumait les responsabilités suivantes : fourniture des services et des installations aux locataires et aux usagers de l'aéroport; gestion des activités entourant le plan de transition de l'aéroport, de façon à maximiser les revenus et à augmenter la viabilité commerciale de l'aéroport; fourniture aux usagers et aux locataires de l'aéroport de services sûrs, efficaces et efficients, tant dans des conditions normales que dans des situations d'urgence et tout en respectant les préoccupations environnementales; gestion des ressources de l'aéroport en restant sensible aux besoins du personnel et en respectant de solides principes de gestion; gestion de communications et de consultations suivies, et des activités promotionnelles de l'aéroport.

Quelques réalisations

  • A été reconnu en 1998, par la St. John’s Board of Trade, comme la personnalité de l'année dans le domaine du transport. Cette distinction honorifique est accordée à des personnes et à des organismes qui œuvrent consciencieusement en faveur du bien-être civique et social de nos concitoyens et sont toujours attentifs à leurs obligations envers les autres.
  • A géré efficacement un personnel multidisciplinaire d'environ 50 personnes dont les activités s'étendaient sur 24 heures sur 24, sept jours sur sept, notamment durant la période stressante de la transition d'un service public à un environnement commercial (en application de la politique nationale des aéroports). Cette gestion a inclus un plan de transition appliqué avec des ressources financières et humaines en baisse.
  • A géré avec succès les ressources financières de l'aéroport pour en faire le premier aéroport de la région de l'Atlantique à réussir à 100 % le recouvrement de ses coûts en ce qui concerne les coûts par rapport aux revenus dans l'organisation scientifique du travail (OST) appliquée au jour le jour.
  • A déterminé les besoins de trésorerie de l'aéroport, y compris ceux de deux grandes installations de plusieurs millions de dollars (deux immeubles de services généraux) et a joué un rôle déterminant dans la livraison et l'achèvement de ces installations.
  • A gardé d'excellentes relations avec toutes les parties prenantes de l'aéroport, y compris les employés (syndiqués et cadres), les médias, les locataires, les divers paliers de gouvernement et le grand public.
  • A assuré le respect des politiques nationales et régionales, de même que des normes et procédures, ce qui a permis que les activités de l'aéroport soient sûres et efficaces.
  • A géré avec succès plusieurs exercices d'urgence et de réels incidents (c.-à-d. aéronefs en état d'urgence et alertes d'urgence dans les installations, etc.), de même que le travail qui revenait à l'aéroport dans la visite de nombreux invités de marque, y compris des chefs d'État, des dignitaires étrangers, le gouverneur général, des ministres du gouvernement fédéral, etc.

1981-1985 Transports Canada
Directeur de l'exploitation et de la maintenance
des installations

Aéroport international de
St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

Sous l'autorité du directeur des services aéroportuaires, responsabilité de la gestion de la maintenance et de l'exploitation de l'aéroport en planifiant, organisant, dirigeant, contrôlant et coordonnant un programme de maintenance et d'exploitation des installations de services publics et des autres installations.

1979-1981 Transport Canada
Directeur des services aux passagers,
des services commerciaux et des services au public

Aéroport international
de Gander, Terre-Neuve

Responsable de la gestion et de la planification fonctionnelle des services aux passagers, des services commerciaux et des services au public, ce qui comprenait l'exploitation des installations et des services dans l'aérogare, de la sécurité, du maintien de l'ordre, de la circulation des véhicules et des piétons, de la lutte contre les incendies, du marketing et du service des installations.

1978-1979 Communications Canada
Directeur régional des réseaux Moncton, Nouveau-Brunswick

1976-1978 Ministère de la main d'œuvre et de l'immigration
Direction de la création d'emplois
Chef des finances et de l'administration Fredericton, Nouveau-Brunswick

1975-1976 Ministère des transports
Directeur des finances et de l'administration Aéroport international de
St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

Responsable de la gestion des activités financières et administratives associées à l'exploitation et au développement de l'aéroport.

1973-1975 Ministère Des Communications
Agent au service des télécommunications St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

1971-1973 Newfoundland telephone
Représentant au bureau des abonnés
et conseiller en communication
St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

1966-1971 Banque de Nouvelle-Écosse
Comptable St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

Éducation

Grade XI (11e année), St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

Formation et perfectionnement

  • Atlantic Summer School for Advanced Business Administration
  • Dale Carnegie Course
  • Senior Transportation Management Course
  • Principle of Accounting ( Memorial University )
  • Instructional Methods Course
  • Universal Classification System ( UCS ) Training
  • French Language Training Level “B”
  • Project Management Course
  • Disaster Readiness Course
  • Airport Management Training
  • Airport Planning Course
  • Staffing Improvement Program
  • Management Skills Course ( Dalhousie University )
  • Decision Dynamics ( Faculty of Management, University of Manitoba )
  • Staff Relations for Managers
  • Coping With Change Workshop
  • Training of Harassment Investigators
  • Negotiating Skills
  • Financial Administration Training Program
  • Accredited Airport Executive ( AAE )Program
  • Introduction to Computers and Automated Systems
  • Media Skills

Activités communautaires

  • Skål Club of St. John’s ( World –Wide Tourism/Travel Association )
  • Transportation Club of St. John’s
  • St. John’s Board of Trade
  • Paroissien actif à la cathédrale anglicane

Information supplémentaire

En 1999, a été évalué très efficace dans toutes les compétences, dans le rapport du Centre d'évaluation pour la nomination des cadres de direction de la Commission de la fonction publique.

Retour